Montag, 20. Februar 2006

A Tribute to Travelers

Eventually I arrived in Melbourne and I’ve got a little time to look back now. During my travel time I met a lot of people. Some of them only for a couple of hours in a plane or a bus, others for days and shared adventures. We shared our time here in Australia and if you followed my descriptions you could see: I appreciated every single minute of it.

They were friends – single-serving friends one might say, but I never understood, what’s so wrong about that. And hopefully I will keep them in good memory or – who knows? – even see some of them again.

It’s for sure that I wouldn’t have befriended that many people if I hadn’t been travelling alone. Travelling with friends encourages sticking always to your own group (sad, but true as I had to find out) and thus can kill a lot of experience. But travelling alone almost forces you to get along with strangers – no matter what a maverick you used to be at home. And so it isn’t surprising that most of the company I enjoyed best was also provided by loners (who surely weren’t lonesome).

Gruppe1

First of all I have to send a really big “thanks!” to John and Greg who kept me from getting homesick in the very beginning of my life overseas.

Gruppe2

Next in the queue are Britta, Emil, Melissa, Joep, the “crazy sweds” Marcus, Martin and Dennis “essen mein scheise”, Ross “I got that beer-shirt from Malaysia”, Kirsty “schni-schna-schnappi”, Peter, Pete “I’m not drunk!”, Ollie and all the others with whom I had a hell of a time on Fraser. I’ll have to introduce that drinking-game to my friends at home. ;o)

Gruppe3

Hey Peter, you’re next! I unfortunately didn’t have more than just one day for the Whitsundays, but I’ll sure see you at the Kitten Club in Melbourne!

Gruppe4

Not to forget Darren, Maria and Kim Young – altough none of you showed up at reefteach we enjoyed ourselves tremendously aboard (and under) the kangaroo explorer. ;o)

Gruppe5

“Pah, that sundown sucked” – never mind Boden “where’s that super-soaker?”, Caroline “all those crazy sweds do that thing [you see the similarity?]”, Costanzo, Gianluca “mute”, Pete “crawl”, Lisa, Rob “What shall they do? Spear us?”, Nathalie “What did he say?”, Jung Min and “Bushman” Jeff “Sauce”. And at least we have a reason to return to Uluru, because that sundown really sucked – but the food and the music were great. ;o)

So, here we are, four weeks Australia in fast forward – not to forget all those people whose names I forgot (I know, that’s oxymoronic). But names are just hollow words.
Get the hell out and find some friends!

Trackback URL:
https://post.twoday.net/stories/1593198/modTrackback

Turin - 21. Feb, 13:52

Great pictures, nice story ... damn, here it rains EVERY FUCKING DAY *g ... FERNWEH !!

Postbote - 24. Feb, 15:49

Hey "Maverick",
seems like you've already adopted the dude slang :-) There is nothing to add what you said, especially the part about the crazy "Swedes", I totally agree with that! Anyway, get connected to the people and you will find out who you are.

Spent the last days in Cape Town. That was definately one of my best week in the last years. Gonna tell you more about it soon, when I speak to you on the phone next week:-) Did you get your landline yet?

cheers, buddie,

one of your friends on your long way

Trau Dich!

Du stehst draußen,

Aktuelle Beiträge

Buh, mich mit sowas zu...
Buh, mich mit sowas zu bewerfen, wo ich doch gar keine...
Turin - 10. Sep, 10:02
Das Marken-Stöckchen
Hier war ja schon lange nix mehr los. Aber statt geheuchelten...
F-punkt-M - 8. Sep, 21:56
Vor allem: Buche einen...
... wo das Flugzeug auch mit einem Internetzugang für...
tande dani - 30. Jul, 17:47
Religiöse Floskeln; Konjunktiv,...
Religiöse Floskeln; Konjunktiv, wohin man blickt: bitten,...
F-punkt-M - 27. Jul, 16:45
Punkt 5 lautet im Original...
Punkt 5 lautet im Original "Schliesse deine Augen und...
Turin - 25. Jul, 11:00

Archiv

Februar 2006
Mo
Di
Mi
Do
Fr
Sa
So
 
 
 1 
 2 
 3 
 4 
 5 
 6 
 7 
 8 
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
19
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
 
 
 
 
 
 

Suche

 

Status

Online seit 7042 Tagen
Zuletzt aktualisiert: 10. Sep, 10:02

Abstellkammer
Chile y Argentina
Echtzeit
Fotoalbum
Hoerbar
Inside Cambodia
Kiwifahrt
Kuechenzeilen
Kulturraum
Land Down Under
Prosa
Reisebuero
Reisplattform
Schaufenster
Terrarium
Wissenswert
Profil
Abmelden
Weblog abonnieren